PEI Awards Seven ENV Studies Prizes and Names 38 ENV Studies Certificates

Carol Peters ・ Princeton Environmental Institute
From the top: Stephen W. Pacala and T.A. Barron; Members of the class of 2009, (photos: Carol H. Peters) T.A. Barron and Ruthie Schwab.

On June 1, 2009 PEI held its 15th annual Class Day celebration. Henry S. Horn, Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and Acting Director, Program in Environmental Studies, welcomed the students and their families.

Stephen W. Pacala, PEI Director and Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, awarded prizes to seven undergraduates. Prizes were awarded for thesis and academic work, to juniors for senior thesis research, and for environmental work on campus. This year a new prize, the T.A. Barron Environmental Leadership Prize, was awarded for the first time.

Following the presentation of prizes, 38 undergraduates were acknowledged as Environmental Studies Certificate recipients. The students’ majors represented diverse disciplines, with 17 majoring in the social sciences, 11 in the natural sciences, 8 in engineering, and 2 in the humanities. Prizes were awarded to the following students:

The Peter W. Stroh ’51 Environmental Thesis Prize

The Stroh Thesis Prize was established in 2003 as a memorial to Peter Stroh, an active and effective member of the Princeton Environmental Institute’s Advisory Council and a strong supporter of the Environmental Studies Program. PEI awards this Prize annually to the senior from any department who has written the best thesis on an environmental topic. 2009 winners:

Mark B. Smith, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Thesis title: “New Approaches to Hydrogen and Methane Production from Aquatic Phototrophs.”

Robert M. Weiss, Woodrow Wilson School Thesis title: “Towards U.S.-China Cooperation on Climate Change Mitigation: Overcoming Political, Economic, Energy and Trade Obstacles.”

Becky Colvin ’95 Memorial Award

The Colvin Prize was established in memory of Becky Colvin ‘95, an Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (EEB) major who was strongly committed to field ecology and environmental studies. The Fund provides an annual grant to support undergraduate environmental field research projects for the senior thesis. Juniors in the ENV Program or EEB major are eligible for nomination. 2009 winners:

Sarah E. Chambliss ‘10, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Josephine G. Walker ‘10, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Environmental Studies Thesis Prize

Princeton Environmental Institute awards the Environmental Studies Thesis Prize to the ENV senior who has written the best thesis in the broad area of Environmental Studies (especially theses that address both the technical or scientific and human aspects of environmental issues). 2009 winners:

Jennifer S. Palmer, Economics Thesis title: “The Unintended Consequences of Environmental Regulation: An Empirical Analysis of the Changing Structure of the United States Industry.”

Holger J. Staude, Honorable Mention, Economics Thesis title: “The impact of the Clear Air Interstate Rule of 2005 on Electric Utilities: Evidence from the Stock Market.”

T.A. Barron Environmental Leadership Prize

The T.A. Barron Environmental Leadership Prize  was established to recognize that member of the senior class who has distinguished himself or herself by demonstrating exceptional dedication to environmental concerns, not only in formal classes and in independent academic work, but also by leading and encouraging other activities among fellow students and in the community at large. 2009 winner:

Ruthie B. Schwab, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology. Thesis title: “From Wild Apples to Modern Cultivars: Chemical Profile Changes of Sugars, Acids, and the Phenolics Over Selective Time.”